25 July 2024, 11:32
By Furniture News May 30, 2023

This year's Jonathan Hindle Prize winners revealed

The Furniture Makers’ Company has announced this year's winners of the Jonathan Hindle Prize for outstanding design.

The winners, all recipients of the Design Guild Mark this year (see related), were announced at the Design Guild Mark ceremony by Deyan Sudjic OBE, British writer and broadcaster on design and architecture, and former director of the Design Museum, London on 23rd May.

They are: DGM 284, The Brutalist Collection, designed by Claire Canning and Lindsey Hesketh for Granite & Smoke; and DGM 309 AD11 Lounge Chair (pictured), designed by Huw Evans and Campbell Thompson for The Conran Shop.

The Jonathan Hindle Prize is awarded to the most outstanding of the year’s Design Guild Mark awarded pieces. All winners received a trophy made from solid surface Corian, and a £1000 cash prize.

The Design Guild Mark is awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, the City of London livery company and charity for the furnishing industry, and recognises the highest standards in the design of furnishings in volume production. The award is open to designers working in Britain or British designers working abroad, and emphasises how innovation of materials and creativity remain at the forefront of British design.

Rodney McMahon, chairman of the Design Guild Mark, comments: “The great pleasure of the Design Guild Mark is having British designers appraised and approved by such eminent judging panels. When those judges choose to honour one outstanding design, from all of those submitted, with the Jonathan Hindle Prize, that ought to be a source of enormous pride to the winner.”

© 2013 - 2024 Gearing Media Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.