The National Bed Federation (NBF) has named the winners of its 2020 Bed Industry Awards during a livestreamed ceremony hosted by the NBF’s Jessica Alexander and Simon Williams.

This year's awards included two new categories – one for sustainability, and the other to recognise this year's exceptional challenges.

The winners are: Bed of the Year – Velocity 8750 mattress from Harrison Spinks; Component Product of the Year – Enkev’s GOTS-certified range of fillings; Small Bed Retailer of the Year – Prestige Beds; Online Bed Retailer of the Year – Mattress Online; Large Bed Retailer of the Year – Furniture Village; Sustainability Awards – Bekaert Deslee (Highly Commended, Jaybe); and the Covid-19 Community Champion Award – The Vita Group.

“The annual awards have become an important highlight in the bed industry year and while we have been unable to hold the Bed Show itself because of the coronavirus crisis, we felt it was vital to go ahead with the awards,” says David Moffitt, president of the NBF. “They are a valued opportunity to recognise stand-out companies and, particularly during such a difficult year, we thank all those who put themselves forward to be judged and congratulate our award winners and finalists.”

The seven bed industry businesses were chosen from a shortlist of finalists by an independent panel of judges. They were:

Product awards: Steve Adams (Mattress Online); Jerry Cheshire (Surrey Beds); Paul Farley (Furniture News); and Paul Stott (The Virtual Works).

Retailer awards: Richard de Melim (Furnishing Report); Andrew Kidd (Interiors Monthly); and Bernard Eaton (Greenwood Retail).

Sustainability award: David Fitzsimons (Oakdene Hollins); Izzie Eriksen (Zero Waste Scotland); and Mark Allison (FIRA).

Community Champion award: David Woodward (master of the Worshipful Company of Furniture Makers); and John Hancock, CBE (former MD of Sealy UK and past president of the NBF 1998-2000).

Read more in January's issue of Furniture News.